Echando un Caldo de Pollo

I love you forever and ever.

I love you forever and ever.

If a Chilango (esp. one from Nessa) ever asks you if you’d like to “echar un caldo de pollo,” they’re not inquiring about your chicken soup recipe. They want to make out with you (or more). According to my sources on the street, this is a variation on the older phrase “echar un polvo,” literally “making dust,”  which means to have a quickie. I’m guessing the chicken soup version is referring to a quickie “lite,” but I could be wrong.

Since it’s perfectly acceptable to live with Mamí and Papí until you’re 37 years old, many jovenes take their make out sessions to the streets – or the metro, or in the case of this amorous pair, Chapultapec park. Most of the time they find a bench, but these guys were content with a little splendor in the grass.

I especially love it when I see a pair of teenagers slurping each other’s faces off on the metro stairs next to a dude with no legs playing the tambourine. It’s the pinnacle of Latin lovin’.

If anyone can provide clarification on this frase, please feel free to leave a Danny Tanner-like lecture in the comments. A girl (and her readers) need to know these things.

3 Comments

Filed under Cultura

3 responses to “Echando un Caldo de Pollo

  1. Excellent piece… expect that Nessa is spelled Neza…

    …and I often think that people must perceive me as 16 when David and I make out on the metro… which is a good thing I have convinced myself. At least for the five metro stops before getting off.

  2. Omigod I know… makin’ out in the metro is the thing to do… ! But you know what’s really cool?

    Seeing older folks makin’ out on the metro. That rocks. I NEVER saw old folks messin’ around in public back home.

    Oh, and another variation: echar pata:)

    saludos… !!!

  3. I see people making out EVERYWHERE all the time. I don’t really mind, only if I’m sitting really close to them the noise me da ASCO!

Leave a Reply

