Smiths of the Silver and Word Variety

I’m not gonna lie. I wasn’t expecting to like Taxco. I really love me some silver jewelry, but could I really base a whole 72-hour trip around looking at it?I discovered that Taxco is as good a place as any to get lost and chat up perfect strangers. The best thing I found wasn’t a scorpion belt buckle or an extravagant old lady broach, but this cool little hardware store in the middle of the cavernous tianguis.

dscn0388

"Not being loved is only a matter of luck; The real tragedy is not being able to love." Read THAT while you're buying your screws.

dscn03321

This sign was posted in the courtyard of a small chapel. I think I need to carry a similar one with me when I get on the metro.

Lovers, take your smooching out of here. Get thee to the park.

Lovers, take your smooching out of here. Get thee to the park.

2 Comments

Filed under Cultura, Shopping

2 responses to “Smiths of the Silver and Word Variety

  1. I’m sorry, my Spanish is not good. Does the second sign thank lovebirds for respecting the store and going to the park?

  2. chilangabacha

    That’s exactly right, Erin. I thought I had included a translation in the captions, but that component of WordPress is currently hurting my brain.

Leave a Reply

