Get Off My Bloody Beach!

The following video pretty much sums up the state of tourism I’ve been witnessing as I’ve been traveling around Mexico. The three dudes participating in coin toss mania on the marina in Cabo San Lucas are a tour operator, a fishing boat captain and a cheap silver jewelry vendor. The game went on for a while and had all kinds of intricate rules.

The Associated Press recently reported that in 2008 foreign tourism in Mexico was actually up 5.8 percent from 2007 because of the craptastic state of the peso, but the rest of the news about tourism kinda makes me want to jump into a cenote. College administrators across the U.S. are telling their students to abandon their yearly wet t-shirted trek to Cancun and head to more classy locations like Ft. Lauderdale and South Padre Island. MSNBC outlined the trend with a story with the outrageous headline, “Mexico: Spring Break, Beaches — and Bloodshed” in giant red letters.

Come ON! People are happily paying to go on slum tours in India and favela frolics in Brazil. But lately when I mention that I live in Mexico, folks back home are surprised that I still have all of my fingers. Perhaps I’m being blissfully ignorant and woefully unoriginal with this post. Maybe I should just keep my mouth shut so I can have these bloody beaches all to myself.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Get Off My Bloody Beach!

  1. camilo

    Speaking of craptastic…ever see “Blood Beach”?

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RLklwhrinSI

  2. Just passing by.Btw, your website have great content!

    _________________________________
    Making Money $150 An Hour

  3. craptastic… excellent addition to the chilanglish dictionary.

Leave a Reply

