“Aguaaas” = “Watch Out!”

High and Dry

High and Dry

My fellow blogueros Lesley Tellez and Daniel Hernandez have already been following the water crisis here pretty closely, but it’s such a huge issue here I thought I’d throw in my two centavos as well. After spending a whole afternoon filling up all the plastic bottles I’d been hoarding under the sink, my building manager let me know that the cistern of reserve water ought to hold up over the weekend when the city’s government plans to cut the water supply for several municipalities. Better to be safe than stinky, that’s what I always say. I don’t want to end up like my friend who lives around the corner  who has been lamenting that neither his laundry ni his culo are satisfactorally washed.

Ironically, my plans for this Good Friday include a trip down to Iztapalapa, one of the colonias hardest hit by the cut-offs and also the home of one of Mexico’s most famous Passion Plays.

Yesterday’s Exélsior newspaper reported that the local government will be buying water for the residents, but what about the 2 million of us who are coming out to watch the play?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

